PGI Peloponnese

The wine zone of PGI Peloponnese, established in 1989, comprises seven prefectural districts: Korinthos (Corinth), Argolida, Arkadia (Arcadia), Achaia, Ilia, Lakonia (Laconia) and Messinia. Administratively they belong to two regions, but they form a single viticultural region, which has the largest cultivated area among the nine such regions of Greece.

From whichever angle one looks at it, the Peloponnese is the champion as a viticultural zone in Greece. Developed from one end to the other, and apart from the fact that it has the largest cultivated area in Greece, the zone also markets the largest number of bottled wines and is second in the number of wineries. Due to its shape, the Peloponnese is like a big island with an extended coastline. But the majority of its vineyards are found in medium to high altitudes, on the slopes and plateaus of the mountain massifs. The vineyards of Egialia (Aegialia) and Mantinia, where altitudes exceed 600 m, are typical. Given the fact that the Peloponnese is home of two of the most popular Greek varieties, the white Moschofilero and the red Agiorgitiko, and other popular local (Roditis, Assyrtiko, Malagouzia, Muscat White), as well as foreign varieties, it is not a surprise that the wines of PGI Peloponnese are produced by 65 wineries within the zone and, with the stipulated joint venures, by 14 more outside it, being thus, the leader in PGI wines on a regional level.

Wine types

  • Dry white
  • Dry rosé
  • Dry red